Hatha yoga

Practiced regularly, hatha yoga contributes profoundly to your well-being. It has a major impact on physical health and psychological well-being.

A specific protocol successfully reversed heart disease, Dr. Dean Ornish

Definition of hatha yoga

Hatha Yoga is yoga as we understand it in the West. Multi-millennial science, this yoga invites us to get out of physical and mental suffering, thanks to transcendence.

It is by overcoming the “duality” of the world that we find our true “self” and thus inner peace. Hatha yoga is also called “yoga of opposites”, “union of opposites” or “yoga of strength”. The Sanskrit term “Hatha” refers to the word “perseverance or stubbornness” and can also be broken down into “ha” sun and “tha” moon.

The practice of yoga is based on a system called “ashtanga” (eight steps). It begins with philosophy (Yamas, Niyamas), to move on to postures (asanas). Hatha yoga therefore focuses mainly on this third step, even if it also includes the following five (pranayama, pratyahara, dharana, dhyana, samadhi).

Whatever the physical difficulty, yoga always aims at the “automatic stopping of the mind” (yogash citta vritti nirodha) and tends towards meditation. In Hatha Yoga, however, the goal remains the integration of opposites (positive negative, good bad, hot cold, sad happy etc.).

Concretely, the practice of hatha yoga involves: physical exercise, breathing, meditation, relaxation and general hygiene of life (diet, sleep, cleanliness, etc.).

A hatha yoga class often includes a good practice of the postures, with a moment of relaxation at the end. Depending on the duration, philosophy and other aspects are also covered (meditation, chanting mantras).

 

Benefits of
Hatha Yoga

By practicing hatha yoga you will gain access to:

  • an improvement in your flexibility;
  • more balance and body control;
  • more strength and tone;
  • mental calm and clarity;
  • deeper, restorative sleep;
  • better powers of concentration;
  • the ability to relax on your own;
  • a state of stable serenity;
  • a stronger immune system;
  • a more efficient vascular system;
  • more harmony and coherence in your life;

There are still many other benefits, but to put it simply, know that hatha yoga contributes to better health in general. Its practice is therefore essential and should be considered as part of your lifestyle (idem brushing your teeth) and not as a “hobby”.

The practice is generally separated into three stages: breathing exercises, practice of postures (asanas) and relaxation.

Hatha Yoga exercices

Yoga postures can be more or less difficult, depending on your strength and flexibility. The advantage of hatha yoga is that there are always alternatives for people who need them. It is important to note that there is no “level” in yoga, which unfortunately is often confused with gymnastics.

As explained above, yoga aims at the transcendence of the mind. The mastery of the body and the ability to contort oneself are only tools, directions to achieve the objective. But they must in no way become an ideology, a “sporting” practice of performance and competition. Flexibility is also a “collateral consequence” of practice and not a goal in itself.

hatha yoga geneve

For who?

Since hatha yoga is very beneficial from all points of view, it is recommended for everyone. However, it can be particularly useful for people:

  • tired, anxious and depressed;
  • sedentary people wishing to start a physical activity;
  • having little time to take care of themselves; stressed and burnt out; having a poor lifestyle (tobacco, alcohol, diet, sleep);
  • athletes wishing for more flexibility and tone;
  • do not like sports but need to exercise for health needs;
  • with reduced mobility; wanting to improve their health naturally;
  • patients seeking a gentle practice.

As such, hatha yoga should be taught in schools, from the earliest age! Its benefits are numerous, they contribute to a healthy development of the human being. The earlier you start, the better the results.

Also, an advantage of hatha yoga is that you can practice it whenever you want, wherever you want. Once initiated, you become autonomous in your practice. At the office, on vacation, at home, all you need is a mat and some time to relax!

It is of course recommended to take classes in person or even online from time to time, but it is not essential.

Special offer

3 trial classes for 15 CHF each
Find our prices here

quis, vel, Aliquam id, ut odio Nullam efficitur. Praesent

Hatha yoga

Pratiqué régulièrement, le hatha yoga contribue profondément à votre bien-être. Il a un impact majeur sur la santé physique et le bien être psychologique.

un protocole précis a réussi à inverser des maladies cardiaques, Dr Dean Ornish

Définition du hatha yoga

Le Hatha Yoga est le yoga tel que nous l’entendons en occident. Science multimillénaire, ce yoga nous invite à sortir de la souffrance physique et mentale, grâce à la transcendance. C’est en dépassant la « dualité » du monde que nous trouvons notre vrai  « moi » et ainsi la paix intérieure. Le hatha yoga est d’ailleurs aussi appelé « yoga des opposé », « union des opposés » ou « yoga de la force ». Le terme sanskrit « Hatha » renvoie au mot « persévérance ou obstination » et peut aussi être décomposé en « ha » soleil et « tha » lune .

La pratique du yoga est fondé sur un système appelé « ashtanga » (huit étapes). Il commence par la philosophie (Yamas, Niyamas), pour enchaîner par les postures (asanas). Le hatha yoga se concentre donc principalement sur cette troisième étape, même si il inclus aussi les cinq suivantes (pranayama, pratyahara, dharana, dhyana, samadhi).

Quelque soit la difficulté physique, le yoga a toujours pour but « l’arrêt automatique du mental » (yogash citta vritti nirodha) et tend vers la méditation. Dans le Hatha Yoga, l’objectif reste toutefois l’intégration des opposés (positive négatif, bien mal, chaud froid, triste joyeux etc.).

Concrètement, la pratique du hatha yoga passe par: l’exercice physique, la respiration, la méditation, la relaxation et l’hygiène de vie général (alimentation, sommeil, propreté..). Un cours de hatha yoga comprend souvent une bonne pratique des postures, avec un moment de relaxation à la fin. Suivant la durée, la philosophie et d’autres aspects sont aussi abordés (méditation, chants mantras).

Bienfaits du
Hatha Yoga

En pratiquant le yoga hatha vous accéderez à:

  • une amélioration de votre souplesse;
  • plus d’équilibre et de contrôle du corps;
  • plus de force et de tonicité;
  • un calme et une clarté mentale;
  • un sommeil plus profond et réparateur;
  • un meilleur pouvoir de concentration;
  • la capacité de vous relaxer par vous-même;
  • un état de sérénité stable;
  • un système immunitaire plus fort;
  • un système vasculaire plus performant;
  • plus d’harmonie et de cohérence dans votre vie;

Il existe encore de nombreux autres bénéfices, mais pour faire simple, sachez que le hatha yoga contribue à une meilleure santé en générale. Sa pratique est donc indispensable et devrait être considérée comme un élément de votre hygiène de vie (idem se brosser les dents) et non comme un « hobby ».

La pratique est en générale séparée en trois étapes: exercices de respiration, pratique des postures (asanas) et relaxation.

Exercices de Hatha Yoga

Les postures de yoga peuvent être plus ou moins difficiles, suivant votre force et souplesse. L’avantage du hatha yoga est qu’il y a toujours des alternatives pour les personnes qui en ont besoin. Il est important de noté qu’il n’y a pas de « niveau » dans le yoga, qui est malheureusement souvent confondu avec la gymnastique.

Comme expliqué plus haut, le yoga vise à la transcendance du mental. La maitrise du corps et la capacité à se contorsionner ne sont que des outils, des directions pour achever l’objectif. Mais elles ne doivent en aucun cas devenir une idéologie, une pratique « sportive » de performance et compétition. La souplesse est d’ailleurs une « conséquence collatérale » de la pratique et non un but en soi.

hatha yoga geneve

Pour qui ?

Le hatha yoga étant très bénéfique à tout point de vue, il est recommandé à tous. Il peut néanmoins être particulièrement utile aux personnes:

  • fatiguées, anxieuses et déprimées;
  • sédentaires souhaitant démarrer une activité physique;
  • ayant peu de temps pour s’occuper d’elles-mêmes;
  • stressées et en burn-out;
  • ayant une mauvaise hygiène de vie (tabac, alcool, alimentation, sommeil);
  • sportives souhaitant plus de souplesse et tonicité;
  • n’aimant pas le sport mais devant s’exercer pour des besoins de santé;
  • ayant une mobilité réduite;
  • voulant améliorer leur santé naturellement;
  • malades cherchant une pratique douce.

En soi, le hatha yoga devrait être enseigné dans les écoles, dès le plus jeûne âge ! Ses bienfaits sont nombreux, ils contribuent à un développement sain de l’être humain. Plus tôt on commence et meilleurs sont les résultats.

Aussi, un avantage du hatha yoga est que vous pouvez le pratiquer quand vous voulez, où vous voulez. Une fois initié, vous devenez autonome dans votre pratique. Au bureau, en vacances, à la maison, vous n’avez besoin que d’un tapis et d’un peu de temps pour vous détendre !

Il est bien sûr recommandé de suivre de temps en temps des cours en personne, voir en ligne, mais ce n’est pas indispensable.

Offre spéciale

3 cours d’essai à 15 CHF chaque
Retrouvez nos tarifs ici

tempus vulputate, risus. accumsan suscipit dictum leo efficitur. risus